Outdoors.

5:16PM- I’m back from my walk.  I walked/jogged about two miles near my apartment.  I’m very glad I did, as it’s quite a nice day out in Gainesville.

The surrounding sounds, especially those of cars passing, changed the sound of the piano.  High frequencies in particular were more difficult to hear, giving the effect of “muting” the piano.  The other major difference in sound arose from the change in medium.  The decrescendo at the end of the recording was far more dramatic, causing me to have to turn up the volume just to hear it at all.  I also noticed a very clear skip within the recording after the first full cycle, the decay of the final notes ending abruptly.  Perhaps this was a result of splicing performances together.

On my walk, I amused myself trying to imagine what Satie would have thought of “Vexations” being used as jogging music.

 

EDIT: I see a link to this blog has been posted to the SMT mailing list.  So, if you’re here at the suggestion of my professor Dr. Reed, many thanks and welcome!

About adaysvexations

This is just my temporary blog with my thoughts on listening to Erik Satie's "Vexations" in its entirety. Let the fun begin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Outdoors.

  1. Katelyn says:

    Can you skype text with friends while performing this experiment? Also, though I know you’re busy taking notes and such, I noticed Echo Bazaar seems to have an interesting atmosphere when this “Vexations” is playing in the background…

Leave a Reply

