Two thirds.

5:58PM- The piece is once again taking on a more familiar tone, somewhat like a friend who’s returned after a long trip.  The first and last notes of the bass theme continue to assert their dominance over the rest of the piece.  It is these two notes, if any, that continue to bring the music back to the foreground of my attention.

6:34PM- Not much new with the music- just the same fluctuating in and out of conscious listening.  My apartment is getting nice and clean, though.

7:00PM- I’ve been listening now for 12 hours, a little over 550 cycles.  I think the piece has finally become a “sound world.”  I’m used to its presence.  I am more interested now in what will happen once the piece is over.  What will I hear?  Will I feel relief, or frustration?  I guess we’ll wait another six or seven hours to find out.

About adaysvexations

This is just my temporary blog with my thoughts on listening to Erik Satie's "Vexations" in its entirety. Let the fun begin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two thirds.

  1. Kathryn B says:

    My guess is it will leave you even crazier than before, strainning to hear the music even though none is being played… Should be fun.

Leave a Reply

