Final ten!

12:27AM- Something I would have done differently: Find a recording that doesn’t decrescendo.  Something I’m thankful for: The version I’m listening to is over in 18 ½ hours, not 25-28.

12:34AM- I will find anything in my own music resembling this rhythm and destroy it with a prejudice.

12:49AM- Current goal- hold on for another half hour.

1:03AM- In these final ten iterations of this blasted motif, I feel every note.  My fingers sense the touch of the keyboard.  Every hammer stroke is amplified tenfold.  I recall all the different modes of listening from the day- the quiet, the high G, the tonal bass theme, the decrescendo, the rapid opening.  My ears hear, but I also feel the music course through my body.  The anticipation of the end is almost frightful.  My language apparently becomes extravagant when I really want something to happen.

About adaysvexations

This is just my temporary blog with my thoughts on listening to Erik Satie's "Vexations" in its entirety. Let the fun begin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment